american spirits and dead queens.

Do not romanticize my bitter words,
my sharp breaths, my poisonous tongue.

I will not be your manic pixie dream girl,
your come here let me fix you girl,
your call me at 3AM to talk about life and stuff girl.

Do not romanticize my bitter words,
my sharp breaths, my poisonous tongue.
I cannot save you with the latest records
if I only own one.

Taking a break from your life
does not mean you can be featured
in mine. I prefer to act alone, to
plunge into this existence
with no broodingly soulful accompaniment.

Let my bad habits be bad habits
not quirky personality traits.
Stop projecting your need
onto me. You will get fists full
of empty promises and burnt out
cigarettes.

 

from American Spirits & Dead Queens, published through Broken Thumb Press

Leave a Reply

