and i gave my eyes to the boredom.

…but it made the seemingly endless cycle that much more unbearable. I get up, I drink a protein shake along with some toast with almond butter, I shower, I go to work, I stay up late doing nothing at all, and I repeat, day after day after day. I haven’t yet learned how to break this.

Simply put… I’m bored with the monotony of my life.

“Boredom is the conviction that you can’t change… the shriek of unused capacities.” -Saul Bellow | The Adventures of Augie March

I am unsure what exactly it is that I expected out of life post college graduation. A potential move to Colorado, an immediate move to Austria after that, perhaps an MFA program upon my return.

Almost three months have past. And yes, you might say only three months, but in these three months I have been anything but inspired, anything but productive, anything but. I dance in limbo about any future of mine. The plans I thought I had have crumpled before me, and now I must create new goals, new dreams.

Today, a regular customer said to me “I feel like I know everyone here, I see you all the time.” This wasn’t said with ill intentions, that much was obvious, but it made the seemingly endless cycle that much more unbearable. I get up, I drink a protein shake along with some toast with almond butter, I shower, I go to work, I stay up late doing nothing at all, and I repeat, day after day after day. I haven’t yet learned how to break this.

Simply put… I’m bored with the monotony of my life.

 

Leave a Reply

